Use Igor Pro 6.22 to Control Hardware

Hello, I'm an Intern at Alta Devices, which uses Igor 6.22 extensively.

A little about myself: I am new to Igor, am only just now learning what ActiveX means for software and hardware, and I have a background in Mechanical Engineering.

I'm on a project that will be using wafer presenters (hardware) from another company. The actions performed on these wafer presenters are written as ActiveX controls, which are called by a GUI the company wrote in VB6. My first question is this (I have done a good amount of searching, with no avail): is it possible for Igor to call ActiveX Scripts directly?

Also, in researching ActiveX in relation to Igor, I discovered there was an example file called "CallMicrosoftWord". When I try to run this project and use its macro, I receive the error seen in the image attached, and this is hampering my ability to learn ActiveX with Igor. My second question is this: what could be causing this error, and is there a way to get around it (download someone elses [fileFromImage].vbs, for example)?

Image link: http://www.igorexchange.com/files/images/Error_CallMicrosoftWord.PNG

Other Information: what I gather is that Igor can be used as a server, where other programs can easily call Igor, but I have heard that Igor cannot be used as a client, or in other words to call other programs. I am hoping this is not the problem/dead end for my project.

I greatly appreciate any help or redirection. Thanks.
Just yesterday I fixed the problem with CallMicrosoftWord.ipf. It was writing a script file to the Igor Pro folder. That was fine in XP but causes problems in VISTA and Windows 7.

I changed it to write to the Igor User Procedures folder. The fixed file will be in an Igor beta to be released soon, but I have also attached it here. Replace your "Igor Pro Folder\WaveMetrics Procedures\Utilities\CallMicrosoftWord.ipf with the one in the attached zip file and then try the example experiment again.

Quote: